f r o z e n - v o d k a v6.11
08.09.03 || Concerning the changing of the seasons and their effects on my personality.
I've noticed that my personality goes in phases. It seems to evolve with the seasons. This isn't the first year I've taken note of this. The seasons seem to effect, not really my mood, but my tastes.

In the spring, I feel flighty. I feel kind of light and at times, ditzy. I like bright colors and happy music. I dress super cutesy. Really, really girlie things. A lot of pinks, a lot of breezy, airy skirts. I feel like I need flora around me all the time. Interestingly enough, looking back, this is when I have most often broken up with boyfriends and dropped friends with whom I no longer have anything in common. I also have been known to toss entire chunks of old wardrobe, drastically slash my CD collection, and this was also the season, 3 years ago, that I had Cosmo cut all my hair off. Of course, here in San Diego, spring is a short little segue between winter and summer, so this stage doesn't seem to last that long.

In the summer, I feel perky and flirtatious. I wear less clothing, a lot of bright colors, and I'll usually dye my hair something eye catching. I feel like I need attention and I dress and do my hair and makeup to draw attention to myself. I find that I don't usually get into relationships in the summer, but I do mess around with a lot of guys. I also drink more. I get lazy and I slack off on things that I shouldn't. I'm also a little more emotional and more likely to snap at something minor.

Towards the end of summer, I start getting itchy for it to end. I've noticed that in the fall, I get bored easily. Also a big season for me to drop guys I don't find interesting. I'm looking forward to winter and I'm frustrated with the last, lingering days of heat and mugginess. I'll snap at things really easily, and I seem to pick arguments and fights for no good reason. I start taking up new hobbies or working on projects to give myself something to do. Also, if there are any books around, I feel the need to tear through them as quickly as possible.

This takes us on to winter. Winter has long been a favorite season of mine. I love summer, I really do, but I have this great attachment towards winter. I feel the most emotionally balanced, the most rational. This is the season I usually find myself getting into a relationship with a guy. I love bundling up and every year I perfect the art of layering even more. I feel cozy. I like watching old movies that make me nostalgic. I find myself baking and cleaning and enjoying it. I get rather nesty, but I also get darker. This is actually my most...gothy [for lack of a better word] season. I get more creative and seem to write more. I listen to harder, deeper music. I watch more intellectual films. Yeah...winter is my best season.

I don't know why I felt the need to go on this little bit of self-analysis Maybe because the equinox is approaching and I'm feeling the end of summer itch most extraordinarily right now. I'm longing for the days and nights of fluffy duvets piled on me and the wubbies curled up under them next to me. Of hot, thick soups and stews and hot pots of fragrant tea. Of my trusty poetry journal making a reappearance and packing away my summer clothes. I'm looking forward to that inner balance and contentment I only really find during the wintertime.

<< || >>




>journal

>friends

>credits