f r o z e n - v o d k a v6.11
16.09.03 || Concerning my distaste for Mormon views on sex.
I think, if I remember correctly, that a few of the kiddies who read this are Mormon, or Latter Day Saints. That's cool and all, but I hope you kiddies understand that while I firmly believe in your right to practice what you believe in, as long as it harms no one, my years in the Mormon church were the worst years of my life. My entire family is Mormon and really, a more fucked up bunch I've only seen on Jerry Springer.

You can't imagine how many times I've been lectured on "what people may think" or "the devil taking over". Have any of you Mormon kiddies out there gotten those lectures?

Of course, I was destined to buck the church from a young age. I was sent to the Bishop's office for a lecture on obedience when I was a wee little thing of 6 by disrupting a lesson on creation in Primary. I started a mini-riot by asking a simple question that my teacher couldn't answer, "What about the dinosaurs?"

Life went on, I dutifully continued to go to church every Sunday. After Primary, I went on to Young Women's, where I got lessons on keeping myself pure and chaste for my husband. I was given handouts detailing rules on dating, rules on relationships with boys. I read something that must have been an adaptation of this.

My turning point was at age 14, when we got a lesson on Baptism before going up to the temple to do Baptisms for the dead. Yes kiddies, you're not even safe after you're dead. Your progeny can research you and have you baptized by proxy long after your corpse is naught but dust. Scary, yes? Anyways, the teacher pulled back the folding divider that kid the baptismal font and we saw the Bishop's son fucking the brains out of one of the Elder's daughters.

That was my turning point, but I didn't leave the church for that one reason.

In the end, what's right for one person may not be right for another, and I'm far better adjusted than I ever was when I went to church. Still, I saw a link to that masturbation reading in Squirrel X's diary and the memories came flooding back.

<< || >>




>journal

>friends

>credits