f r o z e n - v o d k a v6.11
13.02.03 || Concerning who I'm not.
I spend my days on the phone, pretending to be perky. Pretending to sound like I care. Pretending I know the difference between a SOP account and an OP account. I call people all day. Pretending. Pretending and pleading. Not really, but essentially, that's all I do. Plead with some people, also pretending, for effective dates and benefits. Plead with others, bossy and arrogant, for diagnosis and patient status. Pleading with still others, surly and defensive, for contact information and co-pays.

I don't hate my job, but that's all it is - a job. This is not my life. This is not my career, my reason for being. This is an act. That's all it is. This is a test to see how far I can push the limits of office protocol and acceptability. The only reason I come here every day is because it's easy. It's easy and it makes me laugh. At myself. At my coworkers. At technology. At arrogance. At senility.

I chronicle some of this online. Some here, some in my other diary. I learn from some of it. I am humbled by some of it. My ego is boosted by some of it, but this - the sensible shoes, the muted colors, the quiet demeanor - this is not me. It is not who I am.

I am the girl who's spending Valentine's night in my underwear at a movie theater. *wink*

<< || >>




>journal

>friends

>credits