f r o z e n - v o d k a v6.11
21.08.03 || 35
I'm confused and slightly offended by this ad:

Does this bother anyone else?

I obviously edited the scan so you could see the text that was darkened [the faded shadow within the circle].

Umm.

Okay, here goes: Unless you know a dancer or are a dancer yourself, I don't think you could really understand the kind of sacrifice a dancer makes. I was one of the uneducated masses myself before I met Cosmo. Basically, the woman in the ad is representing something the average reader of Gourmet magazine wouldn't understand. She [if indeed, she is a professional "ballerina"] has given up everything that is a part of normal life. Because if she is a great primary dancer, like the ad seems to be implying, she doesn't HAVE a normal life. Her life is dance. Everything she says or does or thinks revolves around dance. She doesn't have time for anything else really. That's the price she pays for greatness.

What sacrifice has Belvedere Vodka made?

That's the part that offends me. But you see, I'm a passionate, emotional girl. So lets put aside my initial emotional reaction and dig a little deeper. Let's explore this ad and maybe one of you kiddies can enlighten me.

"Greatness comes with a price."

What price is that exactly? Are they talking about how expensive this vodka is? As in:

"This vodka is so damn good you'll have to mortgage your house for a single shot."

Because Belvedere's not really that expensive in the world of vodka. And since I know I've tasted it, but can't really remember anything remarkable about it, it can't have been that exceptional, in my mind at least.

So what is this elusive price?

Is Belvedere processed through the ground bones of ritually sacrificed virgins?

Are the bottles harvested from a special tree that is guarded by the litter mate of Cerberus?

What exactly is the price paid for the greatness of Belvedere Vodka?

Anyone??

<< || >>




>journal

>friends

>credits