f r o z e n - v o d k a v6.11
17.09.03 || Concerning fourth grade memories.
For those of you who have emailed me, you may have seen that I use My Way. I bounced around a lot before settling into My Way, which is a really good email provider, or so I've found. Anyways, on my My Way front page, you can edit all the nifty little features you want displayed, and I recently added the feature of a daily fortune. Much like a random slip of paper folded into a less sweet that petrified styrofoam cookie, I love logging into my account and being greeted by my "fortune".

Some are bizarre. "You dream of being a Viking" stands out most in my mind.

Some are titillating, like the time it told me "Someone wants your body".

And then there are ones that prompt a random thought or memory and I think, hmm...that would make a good diary entry!

Like today's:

Take a moment to remember fourth grade.

In fourth grade, my best friend in the whole world was a boy who thought I hated him because the rest of my friends hated him. We eventually began to get to know each other. I don't name names, so we'll call him Chlorine. He had white/blonde hair you see, and a built in swimming pool in his back yard and kids teased him about his green hair. I thought he was amazing. I spent every spare moment with him, and act that oddly did not result in me being ostracized from my group.

One day, I convinced my mom to let me walk to his house, which was only 3 blocks away. I called him to tell him I was on my way and he was just as excited as I was. I left the house 20 minutes later and got to his house about 15 minutes after that. There was a police officer there who asked me who I was and drove me back home after telling me Chlorine wasn't home right then.

He wasn't at school the next day either.

Or the day after that.

Or the day after that.

I called his house every night to see where he was, but no one answered.

Finally, 2 weeks later, he showed up in class with his mom. It was during a Friday movie and the teacher didn't stop the movie. I wanted to get up and talk to him, but it was the rule to stay seated during the movies. I remember he looked different, and very sad. His desk was right next to mine, a fact that got us in trouble more times than I can remember. He came over to get his things and I tried to talk to him. He just looked at me and didn't say anything. He went back to the teacher's desk and she hugged him and signed some papers and then hugged his mom. I couldn't stand it anymore. Chlorine was my best friend in the whole world and he was just leaving?! Screw the rules dammit!!

When Chlorine and his mom left, I got up and ran out of the door after them, to a chorus of "OOOOOHs" from the class. I chased them down the hall, crying and yelling Chlorine's name. His mom stopped and she was crying and told me that she would call my mom that night if I went back to class. Chlorine was crying too, but my teacher had followed me and took me back. She let me sit in the courtyard and compose myself. She seemed as sad as I was, and she assured me I wasn't in trouble.

That night my mom and I sat by the phone, waiting for Chlorine's mom to call. She did, and despite my constant interruptions and begging for the phone, my mom didn't give in. When she hung up the phone, I was furious. Why hadn't she let me talk to Chlorine??

She took me to her bedroom and we sat on the bed as she stroked my hair and told me what happened that day I had walked to Chlorine's house. Chlorine and his little sister, who was the same age as my own little sister, had been playing behind the dumpster by their house. Chlorine's little sister found something that looked like a toy and they took it home to see if their mom's boyfriend knew what it was. It was some sort of modified handgun. The boyfriend checked it and found it to be unloaded. He set it on the dresser and meant to take it down to the police station later that day. Unfortunately, he had neglected to check the chamber and when he set it down, it went off and shot Chlorine's little sister through the head as she stood next to Chlorine.

I didn't really understand what my mom was telling me, all I understood was the fact that Chlorine and his mom were moving back to where Chlorine's grandparent's lived.

Fourth graders are resilient, and I moved on. I made new friends, I grew up, but I never really did forget about Chlorine. He slipped back with all my other seldom thought about memories, until today's little fortune called him back to thought.

So there you are, a thought about fourth grade.

<< || >>




>journal

>friends

>credits