f r o z e n - v o d k a v6.11
22.11.03 || Concerning the yearly feed.
I don't like celebrating Thanksgiving. I used to enjoy the family element...back when I cared about my family. Now, I really detest the idea of Thanksgiving.

Cosmo and I had planned to flee to Disneyland on that day, but then my grandma told us she needed us to help her out. She's tired and the usual "turky dinner at Gramma's house" is a bit much for her to handle this year. So not only are Cosmo and I forced to endure this holiday, we have to host it. Here;s the worst part: we can't even get creative with our recipes. Nothing new or fancy or remotely exotic.

I say: "Okay, so THIS year, I don't care how much work it may be, I want REAL mashed potatoes." My grandma says, "No, that's too much work. Besides, it's cheaper to buy the instant." I say, "Grandma, don't worry about it, I can buy the potatoes. Besides, I don't mind the work, I want real mashed potatoes." She says, "No, everyone like the ones out of a box just fine. Just do those."

The same thing happens at any other suggestion. Look, I don't mind being cheap labor, but just fucking tell me that's all I am. If I have no say, no input, don't tell me that I'm doing the damn dinner. *sigh*

So today it's off to Whole Foods and Trader Joe's for last minute stuff that can't come from a box or a can.

Of course, I also get to do some shopping that makes me happy. Woo! Holiday shoppin'! *grin* I'm going to need cards and mini stockings and some fabric paint and then it's off for gifties for kiddies!! In my glee, I will now sing the Badger Song all morning, broken only by snippets of Tiny Dancer and Flock of Seagulls.

<< || >>




>journal

>friends

>credits