f r o z e n - v o d k a v6.11
03.02.04 || Concerning a note of thanks and some details on my current romantic entanglement.
The funk seems to be fading kiddies. I'm in a much better mood today than I was yesterday. Thanks to all of you who keep sending me lovely little comments and emails. They do perk me up.

Alright, half in penance for being such a surly bitch lately, and half because my inbox was flooded with requests for information, I will tell you all about my current Mr. Nameless/Faceless. First off, we're not an item, not quite. We're...something, but it's not exclusive or acknowledged really, so no jumping to assumptions.

Newcastle is one year younger than me, three inches taller than me, and in the immortal words of Cosmo, "Pretty fucking flawless" in the looks department. Frankly, he's very much a pretty boy, which throws me, because as I enjoy reminding my ex-fianc�, I don't usually go for pretty boys. They do, however, seem to go for me. Go figure.

Newcastle recently [as in 6 months ago] bought the house next door to Cosmo's parents house, and as we spend a lot of time socializing with her parents, we see him often. Newcastle is a flower importer/wholesaler and the first time I met him, I was shuffling out to the car in my scrubbiest sweats and hoodie and flip-flops to get the movie we were planning on watching when he yelled, "Hey!" before jumping the low wall that separates the two yards and introducing himself. He then thrust a large bouquet of gerbera daisies at me and asked me to give them to Cosmo's mom. He chuckled at my confused look and explained that when his source ships too many flowers he eats the cost either way and it's either give them away or throw them away and they're usually so nice he can't stand to throw them away. Then he told me to wait, ran back to his truck and pulled an armload of paper wrapped bouquets out of the refrigerated back and gave them to me, telling me to take my pick and give the rest to Cosmo's mom.

After that, we hung out with him a few times, and then, when one of my friends leaked to him that I was officially back on the market, he asked me out to tea and we chatted for about 2 hours, at the conclusion of which he basically declared his intentions at pursuing me.

Since then, about a month ago, he's been working hard at that task. He's extremely sweet, very attentive, and his romantic gestures are overwhelming in their swoon-worthyness. Just this morning, I went out to my car to find about 3 dozen long-stemmed Colombian roses in a vase on the seat of my car. He calls me about once a day; we see each other 2 or 3 times a week. Cosmo loves him. My cats like him. He called me over to his house yesterday to ask me if I like the cat tree he bought my wubbie babies for their birthday on March 6th. He's had flowers delivered to my cube about once a week. He loves all of my friends and the family that matters to me. He's genuine and intelligent and funny and we have a lot in common.

You're waiting for a "but..." aren't you kiddies? Some reason that he's not perfect for me. Something about him I just can't stand. Some quality I look for that he's lacking.

Yeah...I've been looking for a "but..." too. Haven't found one yet. Which makes me a bit skeptical, but it's not like he's up and asked me to move in with him. We're not even fucking, so I'm not to stressed about finding reasons not to fall for him. I'm enjoying it actually. I love his phone calls and text messages and the flowers and exotic teas he finds for me. He's quite amazing, but for now, I'm fine with the non-classifiable relationship we've fallen into. If it turns into something more...well...I prefer not to think about the "what ifs", it's too early for that.

Satisfied? *wink*

BTW...to those of my beloved kiddies who may suspect they could be getting Imbolc pressies from me...they'll be late. *grin* But they WILL be worth it kiddies, trust me!

<< || >>




>journal

>friends

>credits