f r o z e n - v o d k a v6.11
30.12.03 || Concerning a holiday recap.
I am 100%, officially sick. I lost, The Sick won, and I've spent the past 3 days in bed. My fever peaked at 101.9 this morning. And this makes me wonder who's right, me or my grandma. I toss my duvet off and try to cool down when I'm feverish. My grandma tells me to pile on the blankets and sweat it out. That to me has the same logic as the archaic practice of bleeding. So aside from the fever, I have this violent cough. Interestingly, I couldn't resist sucking on some of my holiday licorice, and it's soothed my throat more then the lozenges I got. I can't stand normal cough drops, that whole mentholated thing makes me gag. So as my fever has left me for a bit, I'll give you a bit of a catch up.

On the 24th, our new manager Badger Man, let us all go home around noon. I spent the afternoon wrapping gifts and being annoyed by The Leprecaun. That night, I opened the pressie from my Secret Santa. She got me The Dog is Not a Toy and Blueprint for Disaster. I've already skimmed through them both, but haven't read them yet. I'm in the middle of a mammoth book of erotica it's...okay. So far the best story has been by Clive Barker. It was odd. Most of it's just abstract and strange. Ah well...speaking of books, all the books that are listed on my Bookcrossing Bookshelf are being purged. Cosmo and I will be dropping them off in random places throughtout the week. Well, Cosmo mainly because the bathroom is about as far from my bed as I can manage right now. Did I mention the puking? Yeah, I puke pretty much everything up too. I can keep water down, and tea, chicken soup comes back, so does toast. Wheat Thins stay down nicely though.

I digress...

Cosmo went to her parents house that night and the next morning, I woke up to The Leprecaun jumping on my bed. It was cute, but annoying. I'd been up till about 2am playing Manhunt, so I wasn't feeling like getting out of bed five hours later. Still, tradition is tradition, and I threw on some clothes and shuffeled out to the kitchen to make a cup of tea, and then shuffled out to the living room, clutching the saucer and flopping down in one of the chairs. This was a strange year. My cousins were all out of state, the house was empty, and we didn't set up the extra tables. Strange, strange year. After breakfast, the traditional John Wayne omelette, I went over to Cosmo's parent's house and gave them our pressies. Cosmo's mom gave me a space heater for the office! I was blown away and absolutely giddy! Now I can be toasty warm in my cube! Then we came back home, ate lunch, and passed out on my bed for a couple hours. We had the next day off and didn't do much of anything. We just slept and ate and slept some more.

Saturday, Cosmo went to brunch with her grandma, and my mom, G-ma, and The Leprecaun went to see Peter Pan. It was amazing, and if I've recovered enough to be active this weekend, I'm taking Cosmo to see it. That morning, I was woken by Cosmo around 2ish. Apparently, one of my kiddies felt the urge to call me when he was all liquored up. I love drunken phone calls!

Sunday I stayed in bed, as The Sick was starting to bear down on me, and yesterday was spent deliriously feverish under my duvet. My loathesome half sister came to town. I hate her. I really hate her. She's...vile. I avoided her mostly, but I think even if I recover today, I'll fake sick at home to avoid her this week.

So we come to Tuesday, today. I can't talk above a whisper because that much force just brings on a violent coughing fit. My sides and back ache from coughing. My mom made me oatmeal this morning, and my grandma's bringing me Mac and Cheese. Mmmm...mac and cheese.

I have a ton of emails to respond to, that I'm going to ignore for now. Now I'm going to shove the cats out of my bed and sleep. I'll respond to your emails later tonight or more likely, tomorrow. If I don't...ah well, I'm sick, what do you want from me?

<< || >>




>journal

>friends

>credits